Quiet Times

“The collision of hail or rain with hard surfaces, or the song of cicadas in a summer field. These sonic events are made out of thousands of isolated sounds; this multitude of sounds, seen as totality, is a new sonic event.” – Iannis Xenakis

I love sitting on the porch swing in my backyard. There I can listen to the water hitting the rocks of the waterfall in my backyard pond. I hear the song of birds and the buzz of various insects surrounding me. The drone of the occasional jet engines passing overhead. They bring about a sense of peace and quiet to my life.

God also speaks through various sounds to our souls. The quiet whisper of the divine voice is carried on the wind, the tinkling of chimes, or the dripping rain, as well as the voices of others. God speaks to our hearts as well as our souls bringing about true peace and contentment.

Hopefully, before summertime is gone, you too will hear God speaking to you in your quiet times. Take the time to simply listen. God will bring you peace.

About 1catholicvoice

Raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, I have lived in Florida since 1969. I have two grown children who are both married and 6 grandchildren. I am a retired educator. While raised a Roman Catholic, my family descends from Presbyterian, Methodist, and Holiness traditions. I converted to Old Catholicism in January 2006. I served as pastor of Holy Angels Catholic Community in Winter Park and Orlando from November 2006 to 2014. I retired as the Presiding Bishop of the United Catholic Communities of the Americas in 2016. In 2020 I returned to ministry with Abiding Presence Ministries of Winter Park, Florida. On December 5, 2021, I was incardinated into the Reformed Catholic Church and named an Auxiliary Bishop of the Diocese of St. John XXIII. In 2022 I published my first two books, Stations of the Cross for Justice and Peace and The Advent of Our God 2022.
This entry was posted in Church Bulletin, Holy Angels Catholic Community, Independent Catholic, Most Rev. William R. Cavins, Old Catholic, Ordinary Time, United Catholic Communities of the Americas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment