Evening Prayer 23rd Sunday of Ordinary Time

The Reading

1 Peter 1:3-5

Blessed be God the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who in his great mercy has given us a new birth as his sons, by raising Jesus Christ from the dead, so that we have a sure hope and the promise of an inheritance that can never be spoilt or soiled and never fade away, because it is being kept for you in the heavens. Through your faith, God’s power will guard you until the salvation which has been prepared is revealed at the end of time.

My Thoughts +++

Mother Nature is making her power known this afternoon here in Central Florida. While I’ve seen no rain yet here at my home, I certainly can here the loud boomers echoing across the landscape.  Most of us are familiar with the use of power in this context. We may also be familiar with its use in  in terns of politics, electricity, and the military. But Divine Power is something which we believe we have little experience. Or so we think…

We certainly have heard of God’s power curing the sick. Oh yeas we have heard of charlatans that stage cures, but then again there are miraculous cures for which there are no known medical reasons or explanations. We also have seen resent research devoted to the topic of prayer with patients in hospitals. It seems those with whom someone has prayed has a smoother and quieter recovery.

This evening’s reading assures us that God’s power will protect us. The issues is what do we need protection from. Two come quickly to mind….. ourselves (from falling back into habits which are unloving and caring of our relationships) and of the wiles of Satan. Take some time this evening to ask God to guide you toward the path He wants you to take in your life. Then ask Him to send his Holy Angels to protect and guard you along the way.

About 1catholicvoice

Raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, I have lived in Florida since 1969. I have two grown children who are both married and 6 grandchildren. I am a retired educator. While raised a Roman Catholic, my family descends from Presbyterian, Methodist, and Holiness traditions. I converted to Old Catholicism in January 2006. I served as pastor of Holy Angels Catholic Community in Winter Park and Orlando from November 2006 to 2014. I retired as the Presiding Bishop of the United Catholic Communities of the Americas in 2016. In 2020 I returned to ministry with Abiding Presence Ministries of Winter Park, Florida. On December 5, 2021, I was incardinated into the Reformed Catholic Church and named an Auxiliary Bishop of the Diocese of St. John XXIII. In 2022 I published my first two books, Stations of the Cross for Justice and Peace and The Advent of Our God 2022.
This entry was posted in Evening Prayer, Holy Angels Catholic Community, Independent Catholic, Msgr. William Cavins, Old Catholic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment