The Month of Maying

Welcome to May! While traditionally it is associated with the Blessed Mother, we begin the month with the celebration of St. Joseph the Worker. The example and nurturing of both individuals were important to the life experience of our Savior, Jesus Christ.

The importance of a nuclear family raising children is well documented. Recent studies show that kissing a child on the forehead light up the brain cells in the regions associated with safety. That same brain function can be triggered by a parent’s touch. Even as adults a hand pressed to the center of our chests triggers the same reaction.

It matters not whether the nuclear family is composed of children with a mother and a father, two mothers, or two fathers. The reactions of the child are the same. Use this month of May to open your minds and hearts to the beauty and wonder of parenthood. Kiss your children and grandchildren and express your love for them.

Christos Anesti!

About 1catholicvoice

Raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, I have lived in Florida since 1969. I have two grown children who are both married and 6 grandchildren. I am a retired educator. While raised a Roman Catholic, my family descends from Presbyterian, Methodist, and Holiness traditions. I converted to Old Catholicism in January 2006. I served as pastor of Holy Angels Catholic Community in Winter Park and Orlando from November 2006 to 2014. I retired as the Presiding Bishop of the United Catholic Communities of the Americas in 2016. In 2020 I returned to ministry with Abiding Presence Ministries of Winter Park, Florida. On December 5, 2021, I was incardinated into the Reformed Catholic Church and named an Auxiliary Bishop of the Diocese of St. John XXIII. In 2022 I published my first two books, Stations of the Cross for Justice and Peace and The Advent of Our God 2022.
This entry was posted in Abiding Presence Faith Community, Church Bulletin, Easter Season, Extraordinary Catholics, Inclusive Catholics, Independent Catholic, Most Rev. William R. Cavins, Old Catholic, Reformed Catholic Church. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment